Saturday, September 24, 2016

prayer diary Saturday 24 September 2016

While they were all marveling at everything he did, he said to his disciples, 'Let these words sink into your ears; the Son of man is to be delivered into the hands of men.' 
Luke 9.43, 44

Reflection
Christ came to suffer and die for our sins. Never lose sight of this: the Cross lies at the heart of Christ's mission; and therefore it is at the heart of what it is to be a Christian.

Friday, September 23, 2016

prayer diary Friday 23 September Day of Discipline and Self-Denial

And he said to them, "But who do you say that I am?" And Peter answered, "The Christ of God." 
Luke 9.20

Reflection
This is a question we must ask ourselves. And if we can not answer from our hearts as Peter did, then we must pray God's help to do so until the day we can.

Thursday, September 22, 2016

prayer diary Thursday 22 September 2016

Herod said, "John I beheaded; but who is this about whom I hear such things?" And he sought to see him.
Luke 9. 9

Reflection
Even those who do evil have a natural attraction to good. We must always endeavour to bring back to God every soul, no matter how lost it seems.

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

prayer diary Wednesday 21 September 2016 (St Matthew)

As Jesus passed on from there, he saw a man called Matthew sitting at the tax office; and he said to him, "Follow me." And he rose and followed him. 
Matthew 9. 9

Reflection: 
St Matthew left wealth and power to follow Christ. So too must we leave behind many things the world calls good if we are to be his disciples.

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

prayer diary Tuesday 20 September 2016

But he said to them, "My mother and my brethren are those who hear the word of God and do it." 
Luke 8. 21

Reflection 
Obedience to God's will places one in the closest possible relationship with Him. Compared to that all the cheap temptations of the world are as nothing.

Monday, September 19, 2016

prayer diary Monday 19 September 2016

'No one after lighting a lamp covers it with a vessel, or puts it under a bed, but puts it on a stand, that those who enter may see the light.' 
Luke 8.16

Reflection
Your faith is a light. You must use not only to enlighten your life but all the world.

Saturday, September 17, 2016

prayer diary Saturday 17 September 2016

'And some seed fell among thorns; and the thorns grew with it and choked it.' 
Luke 8.7

Reflection
The cares, riches, and pleasures of this life can cost you life eternal. Do not pay for things of such small worth with something that is without price.